Skip to main content
This content is intended for the public covered by the exceptions of the Charter of the French language and its regulations. If you read on, you confirm that you fall within one of these exceptions.
Itinerary Bus Stop
Wednesday February 10, 2016

Pierrette Laperle recognized for her contribution to public transit

Longueuil, February 9, 2016 – Pierrette Laperle, the paratransit user representative on the Réseau de transport de Longueuil (RTL) Board of Directors, was awarded the Guy-Chartrand Award at the Transport 2000 annual fundraising dinner, in the category “User Action and Engagement,” for her significant contribution to fair and equitable public transit for all.

"We were very proud to nominate this paratransit pioneer, whose commitment to community service deserves the highest recognition. Most notably, she has made a substantial contribution to advancing the cause of individuals with reduced mobility, giving them back their autonomy and dignity, and their rightful place as citizens," declared Colette Éthier, Chairman of the RTL Board of Directors.

While a member of the RTL Board of Directors since 2002, Ms. Laperle has in fact worked with the RTL for close to 40 years, having been a founding member in 1976 of the Groupement des associations des personnes handicapées de la Rive-Sud de Montréal (GAPHRSM), an organization dedicated to defending the rights of individuals with a functional limitation, in particular, in the area of paratransit. Social integration depends largely on the ability of every individual to get around, whether for work or school, recreation or cultural activities.

This award is Ms. Laperle’s latest in a series of equally prestigious distinctions, including the "Femme d’exception" award, granted to her by the mayor of Longueuil in 2014 for her remarkable contribution to paratransit on the South Shore.

"This award is well deserved and we are very proud that her hard work has been recognized,” Ms. Éthier concluded.


Photo, from left to right: Caroline St-Hilaire, mayor of Longueuil, Pierrette Laperle, recipient of the Guy-Chartrand Award, User Action and Engagement category, and Colette Éthier, Chairman of the RTL Board of Directors.



Anne-Louise Milot, Communication and Public Affairs Advisor
Réseau de transport de Longueuil
450-442-8600, ext. 8145